Rule variations

Claiming rules – Missed Discard

The rule of Missed Discard forbids a player to complete his hand and go out by claiming a tile that is identical to a tile he has missed during the current turn (that is, after his last discard and before he has received a new tile from the Wall). This gives other players some safety as regards their choice of discards. Note that it is legal to claim a missed discard if the player does not go out on it.

Four Winds supports four different versions of the rule of Missed Discard:


Example of the absolute rule.
Assuming that a player is calling with Bamboo 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6, plus a Wind pair in hand and that he has missed Bamboo 7 when it was discarded first time on the current turn, he may not go out on any of the possible three winning tiles Bamboo 1, 4 or 7 during the same turn, not even self-drawn, but is forced to make a discard before being able to go out.


Example of the absolute (conditional) rule.
Assuming that a player is calling with Bamboo 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 plus a Wind pair in hand and that he has missed Bamboo 7 when it was discarded first time on the current turn, he may not go out on any of the possible three winning tiles Bamboo 1, 4 or 7 during the same turn, not even self-drawn, unless a tile produces better scores, ignoring the effect of the pattern Self-drawn last tile. E.g., a player could go out on Bamboo 1, if the rules specify scoring for Three Chows of 1 Suit, Step 3 and a hand including this pattern would produce better scores (without the effect of bonus paid for the pattern Self-drawn last tile) than a hand that goes out on Bamboo 7.

To apply the rule of Missed discard:
  1. Choose Preferences on the File menu.
  2. From the Rule Presets list, choose a customized rule preset.
  3. Choose Claiming under the Rules section of the category tree.
  4. From the Missed discard list, choose the desired version of the rule.
Missed discards and the rule of Ready

When the voluntary ready declaration (the rule of Riichi) is used the Missed discard rule can be overridden or complemented by two options specific to the rule of Riichi:

Related topics:
Claiming rules Chows
Claiming rules Pair
Claiming rules Over-claiming
Claiming rules Sacred Discard
Claiming rules – Kuikae
Claiming rules Competitive claims for going out